Sachin, Sehwag, Kapil in ODI dream team

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

DUBAI - Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Kapil Dev are the three Indians to figure in the all-time One-day Internationals (ODI) dream team chosen by fans in a poll conducted by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting and Glen McGrath have made the cut from Australia. Two players from the West Indies and one each from South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan have also made the final dream 11 with another Australian Michael Bevan as the 12th man. The momentous “438″ game between South Africa and Australia in Johannesburg in 2006 has been voted the best ODI.

Fans from 97 countries cast almost 600,000 votes between Dec 22 and Jan 2 to make their views known as to who have been the best ODI players of the past 40 years in the key categories of opening batsmen, middle-order batsmen, wicketkeeper, spin bowlers and fast bowlers.

Supporters selected the dream team from a shortlist of 48 players and picked their favourite game from a choice of 10 memorable matches.

The All-Time ODI Dream Team:

Opening batsmen: Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (both Ind)

Middle order: Brian Lara, Viv Richards (both WI) and Ricky Ponting (Aus)

All-rounder: Kapil Dev (Ind)

Wicketkeeper: Adam Gilchrist (Aus)

Spinner: Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)

Fast bowlers: Wasim Akram (Pak), Glenn McGrath (Aus) and Allan Donald (SA)

12th man: Michael Bevan (Aus)

will not be displayed