Rules officials deciding whether Johnson can compete in playoff at PGABy Nancy Armour, AP
Sunday, August 15, 2010
Johnson misses putt on 18, playoff in question
SHEBOYGAN, Wis. — Dustin Johnson missed a par putt on 18 that might have given him the title at the PGA Championship, and rules officials were meeting before the playoff to decide whether Johnson will even be eligible for it.
Johnson took the outright lead over Bubba Watson and Martin Kaymer with a birdie on the 17th hole. But his tee shot on 18 landed in a bunker in the gallery, and officials were looking to see whether Johnson grounded his club before hitting the ball. If so, a two-shot penalty would be added to his score.
There will be a three-hole playoff to determine the winner. The holes to be played are Nos. 10, 17 and 18.
THIS IS A BREAKING NEWS UPDATE. Check back soon for further information. AP’s earlier story is below.
SHEBOYGAN, Wis. (AP) — Dustin Johnson has birdied the 17th hole to take the lead at the PGA Championship.
Johnson made a 12-footer on the par-3 to get to 12 under. That puts him a stroke ahead of Bubba Watson, who is already finished, and Martin Kaymer, who scrambled to save par on 18 with a 15-footer.
Watson, playing five groups ahead of Johnson, had gone to the practice range after he finished in hopes of a playoff. But when Johnson made birdie, Watson turned and asked, “Did he make that?”
Tags: Events, Men's Golf, North America, Pga, Pga championship, Sheboygan, United States, Wisconsin