Walsh, Garner and Heyhoe Flint to be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

DUBAI/BENGALURU - The ICC and the Federation of International Cricketer Associations (FICA) today announced the four newest inductees to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

West Indies fast bowlers Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner, along with the late Ken Barrington of England, will join the 60 male members of the Hall of Fame, while England’s Rachael Heyhoe Flint becomes the first woman to be inducted.

Walsh, Garner and Heyhoe Flint will attend the LG ICC Awards this evening at the Grand Castle in Begaluru and will be inducted by one of the original 55 inductees, Bishan Bedi, who will also be receiving his commemorative cap this evening.

The late Ken Barrington will be inducted in the UK next summer in a ceremony involving the former batsman’s family.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is a joint venture with FICA set up in 2009, the ICC’s Centenary year.

FICA Chief Executive Tim May said of this evening’s inductions: “All four of those named today thoroughly deserve the accolade and of being part of the elite group that form the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in association with FICA.

“I congratulate all four inductees but I would particularly like to acknowledge Rachael Heyhoe Flint for becoming the first female cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.”

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat commented: “I would like to congratulate all four of the new inductees into the Hall of Fame as well as Bishen Singh Bedi who receives his commemorative cap as an original inductee.

“Rachael Heyhoe Flint deserves special mention as the first female cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.”

The LG ICC Awards - held in association with FICA - is now in its seventh year and this year is being held in Bengaluru. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame - initial inductees (55): Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.

2009 Inductees: Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett.

2010 Inductees: Rachael Heyhoe Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner. (ANI)

Filed under: Cricket

Tags: ,
will not be displayed