FIH accommodate Pakistan in 2011 Champions Trophy

Friday, December 17, 2010

CHENNAI - With hosts India getting an automatic entry in the 2011 men’s Champions Trophy, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) has expanded the field from six to eight to accommodate Pakistan.

The Indian mens and womens teams will be figuring in two World-level tournaments in 2011 according a FIH release.

The elite tournament traditionally reserved for the top six ranked teams, is to be held in India at an as yet unspecified venue in November-December.

The field includes World champions Australia, Olympic champions Germany, England, the Netherlands, Spain and Korea besides India and Pakistan.

The Indian womens team will be figuring in the Champions Challenge-I tournament, a qualifying event for the 2012 Champions Trophy.

The tournament will be played in Dublin between the June 18-26 with India up against Azerbaijan, Japan, Scotland, South Africa, Spain and the United States.

The 2011 womens Champions Trophy will also include eight teams, with China and New Zealand joining Argentina, Germany, England, Australia, Korea and The Netherlands, who are the hosts.

Asian Games silver medallists Malaysia, who have been making rapid strides, will be involved in the mens Champions Challenge II tournament to be held in Johannesburg.

The field, besides Malaysia and South Africa, includes Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Japan, New Zealand and Poland.

Filed under: Hockey

will not be displayed