BCCI announces 2011 World Cup probables

Saturday, December 18, 2010

MUMBAI - The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on Saturday announced the list of 30 probables for the 2011World Cup.

Former cricketer and a BCCI official K. Srikanth said each player has been selected on the basis of merit, and as the team was doing well in one-day international matches, it would do well in the World Cup.

“As you all know, we have selected the probables. I don’t think there are any big surprises. I think everybody is been selected on merit. I don’t have to talk about any individual players. After all, it’s 30 probables and still we have one more month to select the World Cup team. So there’s enough time for us to think calmly and discuss and finalise the World Cup team,” said Srikanth.

“But I think I am sure, you all must have got the list of players. I think everybody selects themselves, and I don’t have much to say and I am sure we will do well, since World Cup is happening in India. I am very confident the team will do very well. As you know, in One-Day (One Day International matches), the team is doing very well. I am confident the team will do well,” he added.

The 30 probables are Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, S. Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Sourav Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Parthiv Patel, R. Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Piyush Chawla, Cheteshwar Pujara, Pragyan Ojha and Praveen Kumar.

The squad will be further trimmed to 15 players by January 19, 2011, and will also include three wicketkeepers in addition to Dhoni.

Robin Uthappa and Irfan Pathan, however, could not make it to the list. Veteran batsman Rahul Dravid also failed to make it to the list. By Raziq Khan (ANI)

will not be displayed