Nitin, Sunny punish Tamil Nadu scoring centuries (Ranji Trophy roundup)

Friday, December 24, 2010

NEW DELHI - Centuries by Haryana’s Nitin Saini and Sunny Singh forced Tamil Nadu skipper Dinesh Karthik rue his decision to field in their Ranji Trophy quarterfinal encounter at Rohtak Friday.

Saini was unbeaten on 137 while Sunny made 102. Thanks to the 241-run stand for the second wicket between the duo, Haryana ended the opening day in a strong position at 293 for two in the first innings with Ankit Rawat keeping company with Saini batting on nine.

Tamil Nadu employed seven bowlers but none of them could create much impression on Saini and Sunny. International offspinner R. Ashwin could only get one wicket, that of Sunny.

The two Plate Division teams, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, had contrasting days in the other quarterfinal games. Rajasthan did well to dismiss Mumbai for 252 and reply with 17 for no loss at stumps on the first day, while Madhya Pradesh were bowled out for 200 by Karnataka, who ended the day at 35 for no wicket.

At Jaipur, Mumbai struggled against the fiery fast bowler Pankaj Singh, who finished with six for 64, after winning the toss. Mumbai were rescued by 60 each by Ajinkya Rahane and Abhishek Nayar.

Nayar and former Test player Ajit Agarkar (36) rescued Mumbai with their 61-run sixth wicket stand after they were 116 for five. Young Deepak Chahar continued his good form with the new ball claiming two for 77.

At Indore, Karnataka’s decision to field proved right as they bowled Madhya Pradesh out for 200 with only Jalaj Saxena playing his part with a well compiled 73 (12×4) and a late flourish by Ankit Sharma (41 not out, 5×4) enabling them to reach 200. Left-arm medium-pacer Sreenath Anand claimed three wickets while international medium-pacer Vinay Kumar and left-arm spinner Sunil Joshi two each.

In the other quarter-final at Vadodara, Railways were 241 for eight at the close of play on the first day after being put in by Baroda.

The Railways batting hero was Test left-arm spinner Murali Karthik, who scored 57 (9×4, 2×6) opening the innings. Karthik was involved in a rescue act with Prashant Awasthi (34), the pair adding 84 for the third wicket. Then, their most dependable batsman veteran Yere Goud carried them to stumps with a painstaking unbeaten 44, battling it out for close to four hours hitting four fours.

He was ably assisted by Nilesh Chauhan (31) in an unfinished ninth-wicket stand of 60. Jai Prakash Yadav hit a quickfire 42 (2×4, 4×6) to push their score up. India fast bowler Munaf Patel took four wickets for 87.

Brief scores: Haryana 293 for 2 (Nitin Saini 137 batting, Sunny Singh 102)

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 200 (Jalaj Saxena 73, Ankit Sharma 41 not out, Sreenath Anand 3 for 35, Vinay Kumar 2 for 36, Sunil Joshi 2 for 43) Karnataka 35 for no loss.

Brief scores: Mumbai 252 (Ajinkya Rahane 60, Abhishek Nayar 60, Ajit Agarkar 36, Tamesh Powar 25, Pankaj Singh 6 for 64, Deepak Chahar 2 for 77) Rajasthan 17 for no loss.

Brief scores: Railways 241 for 8 (Murali Karthik 57, Prashant Awasthi 34, Yere Goud 44 batting, Jai Prakash Yadav 42, Nilesh Kumar Chauhan 31 not out, Munaf Patel 4 for 87, Yousuf Pathan 2 for 50).

Filed under: Sports

will not be displayed