Jayasuriya, Kaif, Jaffer go unsold in IPL auction

Sunday, January 9, 2011

BANGALORE - Former Sri Lankan captain Sanath Jayasuriya and Indian batsmen Mohammad Kaif and Wasim Jaffer were unsold on the second day of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction held in Bangalore on Sunday.

Jayasuriya was part of the Mumbai Indians in the previous three editions of the tournament, while Bopara had played for Kings XI Punjab.

New Zealand all-rounder Jacob Oram and England batsman Ravi Bopara too failed to find any buyer in the auction.

Sahara Pune Warriors bought Aussie all-rounder Mitchell Marsh for 290,000 dollars, and South Africans Wayne Parnell for 160,000 dollars and Alfonso Thomas for 100,000 dollars.

Kolkata Knight Riders bought Jaidev Unadkat for 250,000 dollars and Australian fast bowler James Pattinson for 100,000 dollars.

Mumbai Indians bagged the services of Munaf Patel for 700,000 dollars.

Daniel Christian and Manpreet Gony were sold to Deccan Chargers for 900,000 and 290,000 dollars respectively.

Delhi Daredevils bought Venugopal Rao for 700,000 dollars, Mathew Wade for 100,000 dollars, and fast bowlers Ashok Dinda and Ajit Agarkar for 375,000 and 210,000 dollars respectively

Vijay Mallya’s Royal Challengers bought Abhimanyu Mithun for 260,000 dollars, and Rilee Rossouw and Nuwan Pradeep for 20,000 dollars each.

Kochi IPL team bought Vinay Kumar for 475,000 dollars, Owais Shah for 200,000 dollars, Michael Klinger for 75,000 dollars and John Hastings for 20,000 dollars.

Chennai Super Kings bought Joginder Sharma for 150,000 dollars, Scott Styris for 200,000 dollars, Ben Hilfenhaus for 100,000 dollars, Sri Lankan spinner Suraj Randiv for 80,000 dollars and George Bailey for 50,000 dollars.

CSK also bagged fast bowlers Sudeep Tyagi and Nuwan Kulasekara for 240,000 and 100,000 dollars respectively.

Australian fast bowler Shuan Tait was bought by Rajasthan Royals for 300,000 dollars.

The tournament, to be held from April 8 to May 22, is expected to feature 10 teams after Indian courts overturned the expulsion of the Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab. (ANI)

Filed under: Cricket, IPL

will not be displayed