Punter avoids hit in pocket from ICC for striking TV screen in anger

Thursday, February 24, 2011

NEW DELHI - Australia captain Ricky Ponting will not be fined or suspended over a dressing-room incident during his team’s World Cup match against Zimbabwe in Ahmedabad in which he ‘accidentally’ damaged a TV.

Ponting accepted the Level 1 charge and the proposed sanction from match referee Roshan Mahanama after the incident was brought to the ICC’s attention through the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA).

He was found to have breached clause 2.1.2 of the code which relates to “abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match”. Ricky knows that his action was in breach of the code, involving a brief moment of frustration. That said, it was clear that the damage he caused was purely accidental and without malice, he apologized shortly after the incident at the ground and immediately agreed to pay for the damage,” Mahanama said in an ICC statement.

As Ponting accepted the offence and the proposed sanction, there was no need to convene a formal hearing.

The 36-year-old is now free to lead Australia in their second World Cup match against New Zealand on Friday. (ANI)

will not be displayed