Oz selectors announce provisional 17-man Ashes squad for Gabba Test

Monday, November 15, 2010

SYDNEY - Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel (NSP) on Monday announced a provisional 17-man Ashes squad for the first Ashes Test against England to be played at The Gabba in Brisbane from November 25.

“This squad of 17 will be reduced to a 12 or 13-man squad at the conclusion of the next round of Sheffield Shield games and prior to the team arriving in Brisbane for the first Test,” said the chairman of the NSP, Andrew Hilditch.

The panel has decided that they need to watch this week’s three Shield matches and an Australia ‘A’ game against England at Bellerive Oval before picking their final 12-man squad, news.com.au reports.

“The NSP considers it prudent and appropriate to look at the next round of Sheffield Shield games and the Australia ‘A’ clash before finalising the team for the first Test of the Ashes Series in Brisbane. From a logistical point of view and with these important games yet to be completed we have named an extended squad of 17 with 10 days before the first Test begins,” Hilditch said.

The Australian squad is as follows: Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke (vice-captain), Shane Watson, Simon Katich, Callum Ferguson, Mike Hussey, Marcus North, Usman Khawaja, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Steve Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ben Hilfenhaus, Doug Bollinger, Ryan Harris, Xavier Doherty.

The squad was announced at a rain-affected gala event at Circular Quay. (ANI)

will not be displayed