India thrash New Zealand, win series 1-0

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

NAGPUR - India thrashed New Zealand by an innings and 198 runs in the third and final cricket test to win the series 1-0 here Tuesday.

Ishant Sharma and Harbhajan Singh picked up three wickets each while Pragyan Ojha and Suresh Raina got two each as India bowled out the visitors for 175 runs in the second innings shortly after the lunch break on the fourth day at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium.

The visitors, resuming at 24 for one, were looking at a huge task of scoring another 349 runs to avoid an innings defeat. New Zealand made 193 in the first innings and India declared at 566 for eight.

New Zealand batsmen failed to cope up with the pressure of the enormous task and losing wickets at regular intervals suffered the humiliating defeat.

Ojha (2/67) was the first to strike in the second over of the day trapping opening batsman Brendon McCullum (25) leg before wicket. McCullum finished as the highest run-getter for New Zealand with a tally of 370 from the three Tests. In his next over, Ojha removed Martin Guptill for a golden duck as New Zealand were left struggling at 38 for three.

Harbhajan (3-56), who was adjudged the Man of the Series, dismissed wicket-keeper batsman Gareth Hopkins (8), who in his attempt to drive the ball was caught brilliantly by Gautam Gambhir at short leg.

Harbhajan also removed Ross Taylor (29), caught by substitute Cheteshwar Pujara while middle-order batsman Kane Williamson (eight) was bowled by Sharma (3-15). Part-timer Raina picked up Jesse Ryder (22) caught by Sharma at mid-off.

will not be displayed