Command show by King in MRF Formula Championship

Saturday, February 12, 2011

CHENNAI - Jordan King, the 16-year old from Leamington Spa, England and the lead driver for Team Sidvin, scored an emphatic win from pole position in the first race of the second round of the MRF Formula Championship, here Saturday.

King set a hectic pace from the start and never eased off to leave the two Gulf Oil challengers Jukka Honkawori and Ashwin Sunder trailing in his wake in the Formula 1600 class.

It was Kings second win in four races, having clinched the honours in the third outing of the first round last weekend.

King, who is set to test drive for Formula Renault next week in the UK, said: “I had a cautious start and was challenged for the first half of the first lap, but I held my position.

“I then opened up a lead and pushed hard for the next five laps. Thereafter, I concentrated on putting in some decent laps while looking for consistency.

“Hopefully, I should have a good run on Sunday in the second race, while in the last run, it will be a reverse grid, so it will be difficult to say what will happen.”

Earlier, Siddharth Kishore of Performance Racing was elevated to the top position in the Super Saloons class after winner Radha Selvaraj (RAD Racing) was pushed to third spot following a 30-second penalty.

The Stewards penalised veteran Selvaraj for a shunt on Kishore in the second lap when running in second position.

Another veteran, Sivaramakrishnan, who had finished third, also gained a position following the Stewards post-race inquiry.

Kishore said: “Radha (Selvaraj) made contact with my car twice in the race, at Turn-2 in the first lap and then the left-hander going into the Bridge Complex in the next lap. I went off and lost position. Thereafter, I was content to hold my position.”

The results:

Formula 1600 (Race 1 - 15 laps): Jordan King (Team Sidvin) 1 (25mins, 29.888secs); Jukka Honkawori (Team Gulf Oil) 2 (25:32.138); Ashwin Sunder (Team Gulf Oil) 3 (25:32.714).

Touring Cars - Super Saloons (Race 1, 10 laps): Siddharth Kishore (Performance Racing) 1 (20:38.987); Sivarakrishnan (Performance Racing) 2 (21:06.424); Radha Selvaraj (RAD Racing) 3 (21:08.475).

Indian Junior Touring Car (Race 1, 10 laps): B Balavijay (Moto-Rev India) 1 (22:38.924); Diljith (Singaram Automobiles) 2 (22:39.168); Gokul Krishna (Moto-Rev India) 3 (22:39.799).

Two-wheelers - Group D 1655cc (Race 1, 7 laps): Arunagiri Prabhu (Moto-Rev India) 1 (15:28.248); Naveen Raj 2 (2:10.444); D Dinesh Kumar (Moto-Rev India) 3 (15:28.391).

Filed under: Sports

will not be displayed