Australia beat Pakistan to win U-19 cricket World Cup

Saturday, January 30, 2010

CHRISTCHURCH - Australia became the first team to win the under-19 cricket World Cup thrice as they defeated Pakistan by 25 runs in the final at Bert Sutcliffe Oval Saturday.

Pakistan, chasing a victory target of 208 runs, were bowled out for 182 in 46.4 overs.

Pacer Josh Hazlewood claimed four wickets for 30 runs while spinner Luke Doran took three for 32.

Australia won the title for the third time, having emerged champions at home in 1987-88 and in New Zealand in 2001-02. Pakistan, too, were in contention to win the tournament thrice as they won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2006.

Pakistan’s decision to field first was backed by the bowlers as Australia were soon reduced to three for 23. Alex Keath (25) and Jason Floros (35) added 57 runs to steady the innings. Tim Armstrong (37) and Kane Richardson (44) took the score to 207 for nine. Fayaz Butt (2-37) and Sarman Bhatti (3-33) were the main wicket-takers.

Pakistan lost opener Ahsan Ali early, before Babar Azam (28) and Ahmed Shehzad (36) forged a 54-run stand. Skipper Azeem Ghummam scored 41 runs and Rameez Aziz contributed 23, but once they were dismissed, the rest of the batsmen collapsed with left arm spinner Doran doing the damage.

Australian captain Mitchell Marsh, son of former Australian opener Geoff Marsh, lauded the bowlers.

“It feels absolutely amazing. I am speechless,” he said.

“It was a great effort from our bowlers to defend a low total against their batting line-up.”

“We knew if we took early wickets the pressure would be right back on them. Unfortunately we didn’t get those early wickets but one of the things we had written up on the board in the rooms was ‘belief’ and we never stopped believing today.”

Filed under: Cricket

will not be displayed