Ranji Trophy: Delhi pick up three points

Saturday, November 13, 2010

CHENNAI - Delhi salvaged three valuable points from their drawn match with Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group A here Saturday despite the heroics of off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who picked up six wickets for a match haul of 11 for 181.

After taking a lead of 110 runs, Delhi were dismissed for 209 in their second innings with Ashwin doing the bulk of the damage.

Tamil Nadu were left with an impossible task of scoring 320 for an outright win in 59 overs, and eventually finished on 143 for three when the match was called off after 44 overs.

For Delhi, who resumed today at 122 for two, opener Shikhar Dhawan missed out on a possible century and was dismissed for 88.

Tamil Nadu, who had won their opening game against Assam, came away with one point to take their tally to six from two outings while Delhi have four, also from two games.


Delhi (1st Innings): 318

Tamil Nadu (1st Innings) 208

Delhi (2nd Innings): Chetan Sharma b Ashwin 22; Shikhar Dhawan b Ashwin 88; Yogesh Nagar c Badrinath b Ashwin 23; Manoj Chauhan c Anirudha b Ashwin 2; Virart Kohli c Badrinath b Ashwin 7; Mithin Manhas st Dinesh Karthik b Ashwin 33; Puneet Bisht c Dinesh Karthik b Srinivas 21; Parvinder Awana b Srinivas 0; Vikas Mishra (not out) 5; Pawan Suyal c Dinesh Karthik b Srinivas 1; Rajat Bhatia - Did Not Bat. Extras (b-5, Nb-2) 7. Total (all out, 69.5 overs): 209

Fall of wickets: 1-46, 2-105, 3-134, 4-142, 5-147, 6-180, 7-188, 8-204, 9-209.

Bowling: Chandrasekar Ganapathy 9-0-38-0, Sunil Sam 5-0-16-0, Aushik Srinivas 16.5-5-40-3, Ravichandran Ashwin 31-5-87-6, Murthy Prabhu 7-0-23-0, Abhinav Mukund 1-1-0-0.

Tamil Nadu (2nd innings): Abhinav Mukund c Kohli b Chauhan 59; Srikkanth Anirudha lbw Chauhan 28; Arun Karthik c Kohli b Chauhan 0; Subramaniam Badrinath (not out) 25; Dinesh Karthik (not out) 23. Extras (b-1, lb-6, nb-1): 8. Total (for 3 wkts, 44 overs): 143.

Fall of wickets: 1-87, 2-87, 3-92.

Bowling: Parvinder Awana 3-0-19-0, Puneet Suyal 6-1-18-0, Vikas Mishra 14-2-48-0, Manoj Chauhan 18-3-42-3, Mithun Manhas 1-0-2-0, Yogesh Nagar 1-0-2-0, Virat Kohli 1-0-5-0.

Filed under: Sports

will not be displayed