White appointed captain of Australia’s T20 team

Friday, January 7, 2011

SYDNEY - Victorian skipper Cameron White has been appointed captain of Australia for two T20 games against England next week, with Tasmanian wicketkeeper Tim Paine his deputy.

White will captain Australia’s Twenty20 side following the resignation of Michael Clarke.

Clarke on Friday quit the international T20 format, saying he wanted to focus on Test and 50-overs cricket, The Sydney Morning Herald reports.

Pacers Brett Lee and Shaun Tait were named in Australia’s T20 squad, which also includes newcomers Aaron Finch and James Pattinson.

Clarke led Australia to the T20 World Cup final in the Caribbean last year, but a dreadful batting record in the short format and his lack of recent Test runs prompted his decision.

“That gives me the opportunity now to focus wholly and solely on Test and one-day cricket and to use that time to play more domestic and first-class cricket for NSW and become a better Test player,” Clarke told reporters in Sydney on Friday.

“I’ve always said Test cricket is the ultimate for me and this gives me that opportunity. My T20 performances haven’t been that great so it made my decision easier. But my main focus is to firstly become a better Test cricketer and also to help the (Test) team as the vice-captain, do whatever I can to help this team turn it around,” he said.

Australia squad: Cameron White (capt), Tim Paine (vice-capt), Aaron Finch, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Stephen O’Keefe, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson. (ANI)

will not be displayed