Pakistani cricketers can participate in IPL 4

Friday, February 19, 2010

LAHORE - The fourth edition of the Indian Premier League will see the participation of Pakistani players and two new teams would take part in that event, according to IPL commissioner Lalith Modi.

Two new franchises will be included in the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after taking the number of participating teams to 10.

Talking to a private news channel, Modi said that the two new teams would join the competition from the 2011 season.

Modi said 12 cities were in contention, including four, which will host games during the 2010 season.

He said tenders for the franchises could be collected from the Board of Control for India or IPL from February 21 and that bids would be opened on March 8 in Mumbai.

The cities in the frame are Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Kanpur, Dharamsala, Indore, Cuttack, Gwalior and Visakapatnam. But Modi also indicated that Rajkot, Pune, Vadodara and Kochi, which are in the process of building stadiums, might bid for teams.

The new team franchises will be granted access to venues hosting matches during the 2010 IPL in order to familiarise themselves.

The 2010 IPL, which is the third edition of the 20-over tournament, begins on March 12, the Daily Times reports. (ANI)

Filed under: Cricket, IPL

will not be displayed