Christian tops list on day two of IPL auction

Sunday, January 9, 2011

BANGALORE - Little-known Daniel Christian was the most expensive among the players sold on the concluding day of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction here Sunday.

Christian was bought by Deccan Chargers but his paycheque, 18 times his base figure of $50,000, was nowhere near Gautam Gambhir’s record $2.4 million coughed up by Kolkata Knight Riders on the opening day of the auction Saturday.

The second best was Indian speedster Umesh Yadav, who surprisingly fetched $750,000, 15 times more than his base price of $50,000, by Delhi Daredevils.

Second day’s list:

Daniel Christian (Australia): Deccan Chargers, $900,000

Umesh Yadav (India): Delhi Daredevils, $750,000

Munaf Patel (India): Mumbai Indians, $700,000

Venugopal Rao (India): Delhi Daredevils, $700,000

Lakshmipathi Balaj (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $500,000

R. Vinay Kumar (India): Team Kochi, $475,000

Shaun Tait (Australia): Rajasthan Royals, $300,00

Mitchell Marsh (Australia): Team Pune, $290,000

Manpreet Gony (India): Deccan Chargers, $290,000

Abhimanyu Mithun (India): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $260,000

Jaidev Unadkat (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $250,000

Sudeep Tyagi (India): Chennai Super Kings, $240,000

Scott Styris (New Zealand): Chennai Super Kings, $200,000

Wayne Parnell (South Africa): Team Pune, $160,000

Charl Langeveldt (South Africa): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $140,000

Faf du Plessis (South Africa): Chennai Super Kings, $120,000

Clint Mckay (New Zealand): Mumbai Indians, $110,000

Jerome Taylor (West Indies): Team Pune, $100,000

Ben Hilfenhaus (Australia): Chennai Super Kings, $100,000

Pankaj Singh (India): Rajasthan Royals, $95,000

Stephen O’Keefe (New Zealand): Team Kochi, $20,000

Johan van der Wath (South Africa): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $50,000

George Bailey (Australia): Chennai Super Kings, $50,000

Roelof van der Merwe (South Africa): Delhi Daredevils, $50,000

Rilee Rossouw (South Africa): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $20,000

Nuwan Pradeep (Sri Lanka): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $20,000

Chris Lynn (Australia): Deccan Chargers, $20,000

Jesse Ryder (New Zealand): Pune Warriors, $150,000

Murali Kartik (India): Pune Warriors, $400,000

Juan Theron (South Africa): Deccan Chargers, $85,000,

Dmitri Mascarenhas (England): Kings XI Punjab, $100,000

Travis Birt (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $20,000

Jonathan Vandier (South Africa): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $20,000

Moises Hendriques (Australia): Mumbai Indians, $50,000

Colin Ingram (South Africa): Delhi Daredevils, $100,000

Michael Lumb (England): Deccan Chargers, $80,000

Nathan Rimmington (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $20,000

Aiden Blizzard (Australia): Mumbai Indians, $20,000

Robert Frylinck (South Africa): Delhi Daredevils, $20,000

Mohammad Kaif (India): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $130,000

James Pattinson (Australia): Kolkata Knight Riders, $100,000

Luke Pomersbach (Australia): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $20,000

Michael Klinger (Australia): Team Kochi, $75,000

Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka): Team Kochi, $80,000

Andrew McDonald (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $80,000

Suraj Randiv (Sri Lanka): Chennai Super Kings, $80,000

Matthew Wade (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $100,000

Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka): Chennai Super Kings, $100,000

Alfonso Thomas (South Africa): Pune Warriors, $100,000

Joginder Sharma (India): Chennai Super Kings, $120,000

Ryan ten Doeschate (The Netherlands): Kolkata Knight Riders, $150,000

Ajit Agarkar (India): Delhi Daredevils, $210,000

Sudeep Tyagi (India): Chennai Super Kings, $240,000

Ashok Dinda (India): Delhi Dardevils, $375,000

will not be displayed