IPL-4 auction: Gambhir top grosser; No takers for Lara, Ganguly

Saturday, January 8, 2011

BANGALORE - Indian opening batsman Gautam Gambhir fetched a staggering $2.4 million even as cricketing legend Brian Lara and former India captain Sourav Ganguly went unsold on the first day of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction here Saturday.

The top five money grossers on the first day were all Indians with Gambhir leading the chart followed by Yusuf Pathan (Kolkata Knight Riders, $2.1 million), Robin Uthappa (Pune Warriors, $2.1mn), Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians, $2mn) and Irfan Pathan (Delhi Daredevils $1.9mn)

Among foreigners, Sri Lankan star Mahela Jayawerdena was bought for $1.5mn by Kochi while South African veteran Jacques Kallis fetched $1.1mn (Knight Riders) and speedster Dale Steyn $1.2mn (Deccan Chargers).

Following are the players auctioned on the first day.

Gautam Gambhir (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $2.4 million

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka): Royal Challengers Bangalore $650,000

Zaheer Khan (India): Royal Challenger Bangalore, $900,000

Ross Taylor (New Zealand): Rajasthan Royal, $1 million

Yusuf Pathan (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $2.1 million

Kevin Pietersen (England): Deccan Chargers, $650,000,

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka): Team Kochi, $1.5 million

Yuvraj Singh (India): Pune Warriors, $1.8 million

AB de Villiers (South Africa), Royal Challengers Bangalore, $1.1 million

Sourav Ganguly (India): unsold

Cameron White (Australia): Deccan Chargers, $1.1 million

Jacques Kallis (South Africa): Kolkata Knight Riders, $1.1 million

Rohit Sharma (India): Mumbai Indians, $2 million

Andrew Symonds (Australia): Mumbai Indians, $850,000

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka): Deccan Chargers, $700,000

Adam Gilchrist (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $900,000

Rahul Dravid (India): Rajasthan Royal, $500,000

Graeme Smith (South Africa), Pune Warriors, $500,000

Robin Uthappa (India): Pune Warriors, 2.1 million

Johan Botha (South Africa): Rajasthan Royals, $950,000

V.V.S. Laxman (India): $400,000, Team Kochi

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $550,000

Brendon McCullum (New Zealand): Team Kochi, $475,000

S. Sreesanth (India): Team Kochi, $900,000

Chris Gayle (West Indies): unsold

Irfan Pathan (India): Delhi Daredevils, $1.9 million

R.P. Singh (India): Team Kochi, $500,000,

Jesse Ryder (New Zealand): unsold

Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa): unsold

Michael Hussey (Australia): Chennai Super Kings, 425,000

JP Duminy (South Africa): Deccan Chargers, $300,000

Shaun Marsh (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $400,000

Shikhar Dhawan (India): Deccan Chargers, $300,000

Saurabh Tiwary (India): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $1.6 million

David Hussey (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $1.4 million

Dave Warner (Australia): Delhi Daredevil, $750,000

Graham Manou (Australia): unsold

Wriddhiman Saha (India): Chennai Super King, $100,000

Parthiv Patel (India): Team Kochi, $290,000

Brian Lara (West Indies): unsold

Dinesh Karthik India): Kings XI Punjab $900,000

Naman Ojha (India): Delhi Daredvil, $270,000

Brad Haddin (Australia): Kolkata Knight Riders, $325,000

Tim Paine (Australia): Pune Warriors, $270,000,

Matt Prior (England): unsold

Mark Boucher (South Africa): unsold

David Jacobs (South Africa): $190,000, Mumbai Indians

James Hopes (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $350,000

Ravindra Jadeja (India): Team Kochi, $950,000

Luke Wright (England): unsold

Shakeeb Al Hasan (Bangladesh): Kolkata Knight Riders, $425,000

Stuart Broad (England): Kings XI Punjab, $400,000

Abhishek Nayar (India): Kings XI Punjab, $800,000

Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka): Pune Warriors, $950,000

Dwayne Bravo (West Indies): Chennai Super Kings, $200,000

Steven Smith (Australia): Team Kochi, $200,000

James Franklin (New Zealand): Mumbai Indians, $100,000

Dilhara Fernando (Sri lanka): unsold

James Anderson (England): unsold

Ishant Sharma (India): Deccan Chargers, $450,000

Praveen Kumar (India): Kings XI Punjab, $800,000

Ashish Nehra (India) : Pune Warriors, $850,000

Brett Lee (Australia): Kolkata Knight Riders, $400,000

Morne Morkel (South Africa): Delhi Daredevils, $475,000

Dale Steyn (South Africa): Deccan Chargers, $1.2 million

Ryan Harris (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $325,000

Dirn Nannes (Australia): Royal Challengers, $650,000

Doug Bollinger (Australia): Chennai Super Kings, $700,000

Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka): Kochi, $1.1m

Piyush Chawla (India): Kings XI Punjab, $900,000

Ravichandran Ashwin (India): Chennai Super Kings, $850,00

Graeme Swann: unsold

Ajantha Mendis: unsold

Pragyan Ojha (India): Deccan Chargers, $500,000

Murali Kartik: unsold

Amit Mishra (India): Deccan Chargers, $300,000

Nathan McCullum (New Zealand): Pune Warriors, $100,000

Romesh Pawar (India): Kochi, $180,000

Chamara Kapugedera (Sri Lanka): unsold

Aaron Finch (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $300,000

Eoin Morgan(England): Kolkata Knight Riders, $350,000

Brad Hodge (Australia): Kochi, 425,000

Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh): unsold

Callum Ferguson (Australia): Pune Warriors, $300,000

Manoj Tiwary (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $475,000

Cheteshwar Pujara (India): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $700,000

Subramaniam Badrinath (India): Chennai Super Kings, $800,000

Paul Collingwood (England): Rajasthan Royals, 250,000

($1 million = Rs.4.5 crore)

will not be displayed