IPL-4 auction: Lara goes unsold; Gambhir remains top grosser

Saturday, January 8, 2011

BANGALORE - Legendary West Indies batsman Brian Charles Lara went unsold in the second session of the Indian Premier League-4 auction here Saturday.

Lara, 41, drew a lot of interest with his participation in the IPL auctions for the first time. He was the oldest player in the list. Lara, who has the highest Test score of 400 in Test, had a base price of $400,000.

Former Kolkata Knight Riders skippers Sourav Ganguly and Chris Gayle also went unsold. India opener Gautam Gambhir remains the top grosser with a whopping $2.4 million price.

Following are the players who were auctioned in the first two sessions here Saturday:

Gautam Gambhir (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $2.4 million

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka): Royal Challengers Bangalore $650,000

Zaheer Khan (India): Royal Challenger Bangalore, $900,000

Ross Taylor (New Zealand): Rajasthan Royal, $1 million

Yusuf Pathan (India): Kolkata Knight Riders, $2.1 million

Kevin Pietersen (England): Deccan Chargers, $650,000,

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka): Team Kochi, $1.5 million

Yuvraj Singh (India): Pune Warriors, $1.8 million

AB de Villiers (South Africa), Royal Challengers Bangalore, $1.1 million

Sourav Ganguly (India): unsold

Cameron White (Australia): Deccan Chargers, $1.1 million

Jacques Kallis (South Africa): Kolkata Knight Riders, $1.1 million

Rohit Sharma (India): Mumbai Indians, $2 million

Andrew Symonds (Australia): Mumbai Indians, $850,000

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka): Deccan Chargers, $700,000

Adam Gilchrist (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $900,000

Rahul Dravid (India): Rajasthan Royal, $500,000

Graeme Smith (South Africa), Pune Warriors, $500,000

Robin Uthappa (India): Pune Warriors, 2.1 million

Johan Botha (South Africa): Rajasthan Royals, $950,000

V.V.S. Laxman (India): $400,000, Team Kochi

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $550,000

Brendon McCullum (New Zealand): Team Kochi, $475,000

S. Sreesanth (India): Team Kochi, $900,000

Chris Gayle (West Indies): unsold

Irfan Pathan (India): Delhi Daredevils, $1.9 million

R.P. Singh (India): Team Kochi, $500,000,

Jesse Ryder (New Zealand): unsold

Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa): unsold

Michael Hussey (Australia): Chennai Super Kings, 425,000

JP Duminy (South Africa): Deccan Chargers, $300,000

Shaun Marsh (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $400,000

Shikhar Dhawan (India): Deccan Chargers, $300,000

Saurabh Tiwary (India): Royal Challengers Bangalore, $1.6 million

David Hussey (Australia): Kings XI Punjab, $1.4 million

Dave Warner (Australia): Delhi Daredevil, $750,000

Graham Manou (Australia): unsold

Wriddhiman Saha (India): Chennai Super King, $100,000

Parthiv Patel (India): Team Kochi, $290,000

Brian Lara (West Indies): unsold

Dinesh Karthik India): Kings XI Punjab $900,000

Naman Ojha (India): Delhi Daredvil, $270,000

Brad Haddin (Australia): Kolkata Knight Riders, $325,000

Tim Paine (Australia): Pune Warriors, $270,000,

Matt Prior (England): unsold

Mark Boucher (South Africa): unsold

David Jacobs (South Africa): $190,000, Mumbai Indians

James Hopes (Australia): Delhi Daredevils, $350,000

Ravindra Jadeja (India): Team Kochi, $950,000

Luke Wright (England): unsold

Shakeeb Al Hasan (Bangladesh): Kolkata Knight Riders, $425,000

Stuart Broad (England): Kings XI Punjab, $400,000

Abhishek Nayar (India): Kings XI Punjab, $800,000

Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka): Pune Warriors, $950,000

Dwayne Bravo (West Indies): Chennai Super Kings, $200,000

Steven Smith (Australia): Team Kochi, $200,000

James Franklin (New Zealand): Mumbai Indians, $100,000

($1 million = Rs.4.5 crore)

will not be displayed