Bangladesh win toss, decide to bat

Saturday, January 23, 2010

MIRPUR - Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat in the second and last cricket Test against India Sunday.

On a pitch which is likely to assist spinners a lot earlier than expected, India decided to play two spinners but surprisingly omitted leg-spinner Amit Mishra despite his seven wickets and first Test-match fifty as a night watchman in the first Test at Chittagong, and brought in left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha.

India also made three other changes. Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni returns to the side in place of Dinesh karthik after missing the first Test with back spasms, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh comes in for Shantakumaran Sreesanth, who left for home with a hamstring strain, and Murali Vijay replaces V.V.S. Laxman who sits out with a finger injury.

Bangladesh made one change, batsman Shariar Nafees making way for Junaid Siddique.

For India’s opening batsman the Test is more significant as he looks forward to crossing two landmarks. He has hit five Test hundreds on the trot and with another century he will join Don Bradman as the only batsmen to get six.

The teams:

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Shafiul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Marais Erasmus (South Africa)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe).

will not be displayed