Mumbai Indians retain four players, including Sachin, Harbhajan

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

MUMBAI - Mumbai Indians have retained Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, West Indian Kieron Pollard and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga for the next two seasons of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

A Mumbai Indian spokesperson said Wednesday: “Mumbai Indians have confirmed that we are retaining two players - Sachin Tendulkar and Harbhajan Singh - among Indians and two foreign players - Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga.”

The official also informed that according to the rules laid down by IPL Governing Council on retention of players, franchisees have the option of retaining more than one foreigner.

In a statement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had said: “Up to, including four players per franchise, may be signed for retention of which only up to three shall be Indian players. The player must have been included in the franchise’s registered squad for the 2010 season.

“The franchise and player must mutually agree to be retained and the player fee to be paid by the franchise to the player for the 2011 and 2012 Seasons.”

The player’s contract will be valid for two years, plus an extension of one year by franchise.

will not be displayed