Sania Mirza to don Sahara logo

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

NEW DELHI - Sahara India Wednesday announced its association with tennis star Sania Mirza.

As part of the association, Sania will don Sahara logo while playing in tournaments.

Sahara India already supports sportsmen Gagan Narang, Abhinav Bindra, Tejaswini Sawant, Vijender Singh, Sushil Kumar, Dola Banerjee, Asher Noria, Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly, Jyotirmoyee Sikdar, Zaheer Khan, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Gagan Ajit Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Leander Paes, Rahul Dravid, Virendra Sehwag and Bula Chowdhury.

Kumkum Roy Choudhury, deputy director of Sahara India, said in a press statement: “We are proud to announce Sahara India’s association with Sania Mirza.”

Sania, who recently finished the year on a high by winning Al Habtoor Tennis Challenge at Dubai, said she is honoured to be associated with the brand.

“It’s a great honour to be associated with Sahara India Pariwar which, apart from being a huge business conglomerate, has also done tremendously for the cause of promotion of sports in India. This has certainly boosted my confidence and I am sure that I will be able to bring pride to the nation,” Sania said.

Abhijit Sarkar, director, Corporate Communications, Sahara India, said: “Sania Mirza has registered her comeback with rising successes from Commonwealth to Asian Games and the recent success at Dubai. Sania’s successes have led many, especially girls in India, towards sports and inspired them to excel and play for the nation.

will not be displayed