Railways beat UP to reach semis of senior national women’s hockey

Thursday, January 27, 2011

SONEPAT - Star-studded Railways routed Uttar Pradesh 7-0 and moved into the semi-final of the senior National Women’s Hockey Championship at Motilal Nehru Sports School here Thursday.

International Jasjeet Kaur Handa scored three goals while skipper Saba Anjum and Deepika Thakur accounted for two goals each.

Midfielder Deepika opened the account for Railways in the 7th minute and followed up with her tournament’s seventh goal in the 56th minute. Striker Saba converted a penalty corner in the 11th minute and found the target again (17th minute). Jasjeet made no mistake with strikes in the 14th, 28th and 44th minutes.

Railways were joined in the last four by Punjab, Orissa and Haryana who overcame stiff resistance from Karnataka, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh Sports & Youth Affairs respectively in their quarter-final encounters.

Punjab came from behind to beat Karnataka 2-1 in a pulsating match.

After a goalless first half, Kulsumbi D.C.put Karnataka ahead converting a penalty corner in the 52nd minute. The equaliser for Punjab came from defender Harmanjeet Kaur seven minutes later and Thokchom Anuradha Devi struck the match winner in the 66th minute.

Orissa struggled to beat neighbours Jharkhand by a solitary goal in the 50th minute scored by Nolo Lilima.

Hosts Haryana were subjected to anxious moments in the last quarter final edging Madhya Pradesh Sports & Youth Affairs 5-4 in the tie breaker after the two teams were locked 1-1 at regulation time.

Navjot put Haryana ahead at the stroke of half time with a firmly driven penalty corner past goalkeeper Etimarpu Rajani. However Pinky Devi Thokchom found the equaliser for Madhya Pradesh in the 59th minute from another penalty corner.

In the tie breaker, Meenakshi, Jaspreet, Surinder Kaur and Ramandeep Kaur scored for Haryana while Raina Yadav, Ranjeeta Sanasam and Rijuta Mullick found the mark for Madhya Pradesh

In the semi-finals Saturday, Punjab take on Railways while Orissa will challenge Haryana.

Filed under: Hockey, Soccer

will not be displayed